a gentle whisper

The LORD said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the LORD, for the LORD is about to pass by.”
Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake came a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper.
– 1 Kings 19:11-12

This is maybe only indirectly related to my recovery but I think there is something else in my life that may need changing. I feel like one of the bad habits I need to break is my tendency to constantly distract myself. It seems like a struggle anymore to just let my mind be silent. There is always something buzzing up there whether I want it to be or not and it tends to distract me from anything worthwhile.

This especially happens when I try and pray. It seems the moment I enter into pray I am just attacked by a hundred worthless thoughts ready to distract me. It is just downright annoying, not to mention distructive to my prayer life.

So, basically, I need to learn how to be completely quiet and listen. I need to develop control over my mind and learn how to turn off the pointless thoughts. Does anyone know how to do that?

~ by Tylor on February 25, 2007.

One Response to “a gentle whisper”

  1. Pray. Though I haven’t been able to turn them off yet, I’ve been able to turn them into good thoughts most of the time, and thoughts about what I’m praying about. I do, though, totally get rid of them when I am passionately in the presence of God. Granted, God doesn’t bless me with that every night, but it helps alot.

    David

Leave a comment